This is the official website for the Law Libraries of the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch and provides public access to legal resources. Welcome to the Connecticut Law section of FindLaw's State Law collection. This section contains user-friendly summaries of Connecticut laws as well as. The law of Connecticut is the system of law and legal precedent of the U.S. state of Connecticut. Sources of law include the Constitution of Connecticut and the.
Laws Connecticut State –
Family Relations or the state's attorney often request protective orders. They typically remain in effect until the end of the criminal case. However, Standing Criminal Protective Orders can be issued and remain in effect for a lifetime or until further action by the court. Victims of family violence in Connecticut have the right to terminate their lease early and without penalty if they reasonably believe that it is necessary to vacate the dwelling due to fear of imminent harm to themselves or their children.
Victims must give 30 days notice to their landlord and satisfy certain requirements to prove they are a victim of family violence. In Connecticut, employers with 3 or more employees must allow workers experiencing family violence to take up to 12 days off in a calendar year for certain issues resulting from the violence, such as the victim needing to seek medical care or attend a related court hearing.
The leave only has to be paid if the employee is eligible for paid leave and if the leave will not exceed the maximum amount of leave due to the employee during any calendar year. This program provides you with a substitute mailing address so that the address of where you live can be kept private.
To learn more about the program, visit the Office of the Secretary of the State. Leave this site For your Safety. Click here for more info on internet safety. Translate this website to Translate website. Information about Domestic Violence. What is Domestic Violence? CT Domestic Violence Laws Connecticut has many laws that are intended to help keep victims of domestic violence safe and hold offenders accountable for their actions.
Family Violence and Family Member Defined In Connecticut, it is illegal for someone to physically assault, stalk or threaten you even if that person is a member of your family or household, or is someone you have dated.
Connecticut defines family or household member to include any of the following persons regardless of their age: Spouse or former spouse Parents or their children Persons related by blood or marriage Persons other than those related by blood or marriage but who presently reside together or have resided together e.
Assault — There are several degrees of physical assault that cover different levels of physical injury inflicted by another person, which may or may not include the use of a weapon. Class B felony C. Class A felon y C. Class D felon y C. Class D felony C. Class A misdemeanor C. Class C felony C.
Remember, just because you are married or in a dating relationship, it is illegal for your partner to force you to participate in any sexual activity that you do not want to do. Class B or A felony C. Class C or B felony C. Lawlor Mohegan Indians v. This article is about invented early colonial Connecticut laws. For laws created to enforce moral standards, see Blue laws. The New England Quarterly. The Museum of Hoaxes.
Retrieved December 21, Also, the Constitution, or Civil Compact, Entered Into and Adopted by the Towns of Windsor, Hartford, and Wethersfield in —9; to which is added some extracts from the laws and judicial proceedings of New-Haven colony, commonly called Blue laws.
Library of American Civilization. History and Antiquities of New Haven, Conn: Blue Laws of Connecticut". Retrieved from " https: Views Read Edit View history. This page was last edited on 23 May , at
9 new Connecticut laws that begin on Jan. 1
The Blue Laws of the Colony of Connecticut are an invented set of harsh statutes governing conduct in the Puritan colony, listed in a history of Connecticut that. The Guide to Law Online contains a selection of Connecticut legal, judicial, and Constitution of the State of Connecticut, (Connecticut. Licensing & State Laws. Connecticut uses a multi-stage licensing process for teens. This system allows teens to gradually gain exposure to complex driving.